Read & Learn More!

27 Women: Read More – Learn More!

Our 27 Women are absolutely fascinating and inspiring. Some are more well known than others, our goal is to spread the great news about their awesome accomplishments. Here are some links to some interesting articles.

Sarah George Bagley: http://www.nps.gov/lowe/historyculture/upload/Sarah%20Bagley_%20Lowell%20Notes.pdf

Amy Cheney Beach links: http://www.americancomposers.org/beach_article.htm   http://www.pbs.org/wnet/ihas/composer/beach.html

Bernice Blake:  http://www.cowhampshireblog.com/2013/03/28/new-hampshires-first-female-aviator-well-known-photographer-and-philanthropist-bernice-blake-perry-1905-1996/

Laura Bridgman: http://www.perkins.org/about/history/laura-bridgman

Hilda Johnson Brungot:  http://www.cowhampshireblog.com/2008/02/08/new-hampshires-record-breaking-state-representative-and-grand-dame-hilda-c-f-johnson-brungot-1886-1982/   (Really cool newspaper post telling her story in office/flip through animation) http://issuu.com/dailysun/docs/bds8-25-11

Canterbury Shaker Village and Enfield Shaker Village: http://www.shakers.org/discover-learn/the-shakers/

Willa Cather: https://www.willacather.org/learn/willa-cathers-biography

Hannah Davis: http://6fc4991fb8b860157236-d45f86eb4bf2c8de4a93c18072674edb.r51.cf1.rackcdn.com/cms/cmsfiles/resources/yankee/skinner-yankee-jul-aug-09.pdf

Mary Baker Eddy: http://www.marybakereddylibrary.org/mary-baker-eddy/life\

Exeter Hospital School of Nursing: Preview of an Exeter history book but gives a large background history of the school and girls https://books.google.com/books?id=bHAVBAAAQBAJ&pg=PT31&lpg=PT31&dq=Exeter+Hospital+School+of+Nursing+graduates+5+women&source=bl&ots=QOigLVyetc&sig=Vzz-9RUy4m2uI7vYOWdqcKy8qVw&hl=en&sa=X&ei=QXHWVKS0OcOXNrTTgugB&ved=0CCIQ6AEwATgK#v=onepage&q=Exeter%20Hospital%20School%20of%20Nursing%20graduates%205%20women&f=false

Sarah J. Hale: https://www.nwhm.org/education-resources/biography/biographies/sarah-hale/

Mildred McAfee: https://vcencyclopedia.vassar.edu/alumni/mildred-mcafee.html

Abby Hutchinson: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~rhutch/abby_hutchinson.html

Lotte Johanna Alexandra Jacobi: http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/299001/Lotte-Jacobi

Sister Madeline of Jesus: https://www.rivier.edu/journal/ROAJ-Fall-2009/F359-Former-President-Biography-LISKOW.pdf

Jane Kenyon: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/jane-kenyon

Ona Marie Judge Staines: http://marthawashington.us/items/show/4

Sharon Christa Corrigan McAuliffe: http://www.biography.com/people/christa-mcauliffe-9390406   This one has a weird set up but more information http://www.legacy.com/news/legends-and-legacies/christa-mcauliffe-teacher-astronaut/462/

Marian Griswold Nevins MacDowell: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/awhhtml/aw08e/aw08e.html

Grace Metalious: http://www.vanityfair.com/news/2006/03/peytonplace200603

Marilla Ricker: http://www.concordmonitor.com/home/2791750-95/ricker-women-state-vote

Molly Stark: http://www.womenhistoryblog.com/2009/05/elizabeth-page-molly-stark.html

Celia Laighton Thaxter: http://www.seacoastnh.com/women/thaxter.html

Emma Coolidge Weston: Unable to find a full biography only that she was the founder of  The New Hampshire Association for the Blind so the link provided is the website speaking of the growth over the years https://sightcenter.org/about-us/history

Dina Whipple: Biography http://www.geni.com/people/Dinah-Whipple-Chase-Freed-Slave/6000000017251528508   Supporting info on her story http://www.moffattladd.org/historypeople/thewhipples.html  

Armenia Aldrich White: http://www.cowhampshireblog.com/2007/12/22/concord-new-hampshires-white-park-and-family/

Harriet Wilson: http://www.aaregistry.org/historic_events/view/author-harriet-wilson-born